fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2002-11-29 | 7:35 p.m.

corduroy licorice believed that winners never quit. that's why he would never give up his pack-a-day habit.

***

so, you've all been clamoring for a heartwarming thanksgiving holiday story. well, i ain't one to let my readership down. that said:

i was walking to the local highbrow grocery store (where organic ain't a foreign concept) to stock up before the holiday weekend.

an elderly woman stepped out of a corporate building's entryway wearing a very elegant black fur coat that was probably only a slightly younger vintage than she was. her gray hair was bobbed and her demeanor was regal. but there was something in her eye. a fearful glint. a slight sense of being out of sorts. i'd seen her in that same entryway before and wondered what her story was. did she work there? it didn't seem likely. maybe just taking her nightly walk around her neighborhood?

on the way back to my car, flush with goodies like fresh-baked pumpkin pie, i saw her again. she was down to a sweatshirt, tights and hippack now and was neatly unfolding a sheet and blanket in one of the corners of the building entrance. a nice suitcase sat at the foot of her "bed." this sight broke my heart, especially on the eve of the day we american types give thanks for all the good fortune in our lives.

by the time i got to my ride, i knew i had to do something for her. i grabbed some dollar bills from my wallet and headed back to her makeshift home.

when i got back, she was chatting with the host of the restaurant next door. she was obviously a familiar face on friendly terms with him and the valet parking attendant. when she wandered off by herself, i approached her with my little wad of money.

"i'd like you to have this," i said.

she looked at me, confused. after all, she hadn't been begging for it and she hadn't noticed me notice her.

"are you sure you can spare it?" she asked in a concerned, ever-so-proper voice. this took me by surprise and endeared her even more.

"yes, this is what the holiday season is all about."

"what?" she asked.

i repeated myself and then said, "happy thanksgiving."

"why, thank you," she smiled.

you can bet my heart was lighter all the way home. even the jerks cutting me off in traffic didn't bug. my holiday had been made.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16