fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2001-07-24 | 5:40 p.m.

corduroy licorice put his money where his mouth was. he would often walk around with quarters and nickels tucked inside his cheek. one time at the grocery store check-out, he sneezed and made perfect change.

***

the other night i was going through some drawers and came across a little treasure box containing notes and what-nots from relationships past.

i found a birthday card desert storm had given me a couple of months into our dating timeline. in one line, he scribed:

"sometimes your beauty and grace baffle me."

cut to now: i started to cry...wondering whatever happened to that kind part of him that loved me?

after a few minutes i came across a page i had written to myself. a pro and con list i had put together when struggling to decide what to do about my relationship with vietnam. to break up or not to break up, that was the question.

i had written across the top of the college-ruled sheet:

"why am i afraid to marry vietnam?"

cut to now: i burst out laughing. such a ridiculous question. such a naive girl.

***

wink of the day:

ok, i already mentioned the wonderfully good band the actual tigers. you need more proof, you jaded, worldly wise person? then catch these lyrics. if you heard the tunes that go with, you'd be sold, i betcha!

testimony

i remember times when i was younger / thought about it every single day / thinking how i'm only getting older / and i been spending time the lonely way / oh and is there really nothing i can say? maybe there is someone i should be / quit relying on the natural order / i'll find myself a new philosophy / maybe find myself a new philosophy / and i was thinking while standing on the corner / to use a public phone i gotta pay / the day i find someone who's worth my quarter / i was thinking that'll be the day / i remember thinking that'll be the day / oh but then came you / a face to call my home / testimony to the thoughts that make up who i am / they say time's the test of all that's true / you're the living proof / you got what i wish i had / and i'd been dreaming of a dreamy-looking fun girl / i thought about her every single day / and i was living with an ever-present hunger / and it just wouldn't go away / oh and there was really nothing i could say / yeah and there was nothing i could eat / i wrote it off as an obsessional disorder / she was someone i was never gonna meet / yeah she was someone i was never gonna meet

---

bad day

well i woke up this morning / and then i opened the blinds / i was stretching and yawning / oh yeah, in the warm sunshine / and then i checked my reflection / and gave a wink of my eye / then i stepped in the shower / oh yeah, and i was feeling alright / then i went to the market / and i was walking alone / but then i met me a woman / oh yeah, and she followed me home / broken toy, broken swing / seems like i lose everything / good things always go away / storybook happiness makes you think it could last forever / but i'll fall / i'm in need of a bad day baby / put me back in my place / i'm in need of a bad day baby / wipe this grin of my face / i'm in need of a bad day baby / get you off my mind / i'm in need of a bad day baby / leave these thoughts behind / you know i think that you're special / you know you drive me insane / you got a pretty complexion, / sweet heart, and a beautiful brain / so girl you better be faithful / and never put me to shame / 'cause if you take me for granted / sweetheart, i'll put some salt in your game / broken heart, broken string / seems like I lose everything / good things always go away / and fairy tale romance makes you think it could last forever / but we'll part

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16