fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2000-10-06 | 12:41:42

"why does it always rain on me?" is the question travis sang last night.

"why does it never rain in l.a.?" is the question my lunch partners asked yesterday.

the sky answered travis' inquiry this morning. i loooooove waking up to the drip-drip-drop. if only it 'twas a weekend day, so that i could stay in bed and read to the showering serenade. but alas, must go to work.

the show was terrific--the last stop on their "the man who" tour. fran shared that he had just "got down on one knee" at hoover dam (?!--maybe she makes his heart overflow?) and proposed to his fair lass. then he dedicated a performance of "i love you anyways" to her. *sniff*

"you were on my mind

inside the cinema

you looked so beautiful

i almost had to go

and when i got outside

i thought of you again

i think you should be framed

in some fine art gallery

i know you disagree with me

but i love you anyways"

thanks for making me cry, mate!

they played some new songs which were instantly hummable. they know from pop craftmanship, let me tell you. and they're cute! they bounce with their guitars and wear muppet shirts and speak with an ever-so-disarming-and-charming scottish accent. mmmm. hee.

they closed the show with right rockin' version of ac/dc's "back in black." ahaha!

the only bummer was that they didn't play my current favorite, "the line is fine." i kept crossing my fingers and wishing up to the ceiling. didn't work. just like when i saw olivia newton-john in concert when i was in junior high. i wished for that little blonde dot on stage to sing my favorite tune: "summertime blues." but, alas, twas not to be.

even though they dissed me on my theme song, i'm gonna wear my travis baby tee to work with pride. *teenage girl scream* "i love you, travis!!!"

***

one of travis' songs has the sweet little line: "i'm a foot without a sock without you." how timely, seeing how the delightful miss steph of tubesocks is wishing for a boy with argyle ones today at girlboy...

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16