fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2002-10-17 | 6:28 p.m.

corduroy licorice would often fork over his lunch money to the cafeteria cashier. he liked the way the dollar bills folded up so neatly between the tines.

***

the absolute best part of today was talking on the phone to the precocious six-year-old daughter of one of my friends.

me: how old are you now?

her: six. how old are you?

me: 37.

her: then you're older than my mommy. she's 33.

me: yes. i'm four years older, but i don't have ANY little girls.

her: (audible gasp) you don't?! you mean you're not even pregnant?!

me: no, i have to find a good daddy first. like your mommy did.

her: (smiling) yeah.

a bit later in the conversation...

her: i always wanted a baby brother. there are six girls on my street. no boys.

me: but there are boys in your school, right?

her: yes, but there are more girls than boys still.

me: hmmm...where are all the boys?

her: i wonder where the boys are. (pause) maybe in new york! that's where my daddy is from.

me: maybe i should go to new york.

her: when are you coming to visit us?

me: i don't know. i hope soon.

her: i really like visiting with people. it's a special treat.

***

redniko made me get misty-eyed with this elegant entry.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16