fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2002-05-13 | 4:59 p.m.

corduroy licorice was feeling high and mighty. angel dust will do that to you.

***

movie quote thought for the day:

"life moves pretty fast. if you don't stop and look around once in awhile, you might miss it."
- ferris bueller

***

remember when i bitched about tv's suckage in both a time and inherent quality sense? after i posted that entry i had some second thoughts. i was thinking it probably just came off as whiny and maybe pretentious even. i considered deleting it, but i didn't. and i shore am glad i didn't.

"cuz why?" i pretend that you ask.

cuz something really cool happened after mr. blue lanugo read that entry. well, first of all, i just think it's cool that mr. blue lanugo reads these lavendar-tinged pages at all because he is a little bit of alright! but besides checking out my word ups, he gave me a bigger compliment. he got inspired!!!

he sent me an e-mail to let me know what had gone down and made my week in a major way. i liked his tale so much, i wanted to share it (capital letters and all):

"I want to thank you for a little bit of inspiration you floated unknowningly my way, when you wrote that bit about TV.� It got me thinking. On the day before those planes flew into the World Trade Center, I wasn't a TV watcher.� I didn't have cable.� But when they did, I felt like I had to get cable, just to see what was going on.� There seemed to be something going on every day or, at least, I expected to see something every day.� I think I expected to tune in and just see a mushroom cloud or something.� Anyway.� And, of course, I was finding time, here and there, to watch all kinds of other crap... So.. When I read your piece, I remembered the way I felt not watching it.� There are so many other things I need to do. And to think that I'm blaming my love life and work for taking away from my time to get done what I need to get done, when I'm frittering away serious chunks of Saturday afternoons laying in front of the TV and looking for something to watch.� So:� I called them up yesterday and cancelled it.� The lady that works the phones at the cable company reacted as if I'd told her I didn't want food and water any more.� She was like: What are you going to do with out TV?� I told her that I had books and friends."

damn cool, says i!

and you know what? he writes other cool stories, too.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16