fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2002-04-29 | 9:09 p.m.

corduroy licorice was full of himself. his skin was literally skintight and every square centimeter of his body's interior was taken up by tissue, fluids, organs and muscle.

***

quote from one of my favorite i love lucy episodes ever:

"it'sa my birthday, too!"

4/20 might be national smoke out day, but 4/30 is national nick out day.

it's the big 3-7. that sounds like such a large numero, but it ain't that scary. just last week a girl in my class asked me, "how old are you, nictate? about 28 like me?"

i coyly revealed that i had almost ten years on her. hearing that announcement, a guy in the class dropped jaw and said, "no way! you carry it awesome!" even though he is the most obnoxious person in the group, i'll always have a soft spot in my heart for him from now on.

birthdays often bring reflective thoughts on the year just past and the years long past. the last day or so, i've been remembering my landmark birthdays...not in odometer years, but in bits of memory that stay as fresh as simonized draperies.

when i was growing up, my mom had the tradition of baking my sister and i lamb cakes for our first several birthdays. the cake mold was the 3-D shape of a kneeling lamb. i don't know where my mom got that mold or why it became our signature cumplea�os dessert. frosted in white and dusted with coconut shavings, it was happy birthday to ewe!

then there was the year i had a real, official-like birthday party, inviting several girls from school...including the blonde doctor's daughter who had her own real live pony (beotch!). my mom plotted out a scavenger hunt for us with hidden clues and special prizes. the final round's rewards were tiny beaded coin purses that each girl clutched dearly like a coveted jewel.

there was one girl there who was the daughter of one of my mom's friends...an outsider invited out of politeness. she was the only one who knew the answer to my mom's seemingly obscure clue, "mares eat oats and goats eat oats, but little lambs eat ???" "ivy!" she answered, remarkably confident as she stood in a pre-teen circle of strangers. leave it to my mom to work another livestock angle into my birthday celebration.

skipping ahead a decade and some change, i was given a barbie sweet 16 surprise party (about 16 years after the fact) by my thoughful friends c-girl and homie. entering the house where the party was being hosted, i opened a sliding wooden door to see about 20 assorted smiling faces staring at me in giddy silence. overcome and overwhelmed, i immediately slammed the door shut. it slid back open to unleash a wave of laughter and squeals of "surprise!" i was soon donned with a pale pink feather boa and a sparkly tiara. it was like an episode of this is your life meets a charo homecoming. all kinds of friends who had never hung out together had been imported for the occasion. they spoiled me like nobody's business with delicious party food and wonderful presents. i was princess for a night and i'll never forget it.

my next most memorable birthday event was two years ago for my "quince�era 20 years late." the belated coming-out party was the brainstorm of my friend p-girl and i. we brewed the concept up when we realized we'd both be turning 35 in the same month. that was a very magical night, i must say. one just never forgets the night she truly becomes a woman.

and then this year, another collision of worlds was plotted by my girl l-dawg, along with other co-conspirators--a crowded, blustery happy hour featuring sangria and mouth-watering tapas snacks. ol�! i was surrounded by friends from all walks of my life once more and was reminded once again that i am a very fortunate filly.

even though i'll be at work on the actual anniversary of the genesis of my existence, i know i'll have a good day. my company is peppered with several friends who tend to spoil me, and there will be gooey, cholesterol-laden, philly cheese steak sandwiches, and peperocinis as far as the eye can water, to be had when we punch the clock goodnight.

as if it could get better than that, i just got an amazing surprise in the form of an unexpected trip to visit one of the coolest people i have the pleasure to know. this chick is one lucky lamb. baaaaah-r none.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16