fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2001-12-04 | 6:31 p.m.

corduroy licorice gave his high school sweetheart the boot. he figured having his footwear around would help her fondly remember their long walks together. besides, the left one had a hole worn through the sole anyway.

***

good things about today:

* my male cubemate asking me, "what are you doing differently? exercising more? what? you look great! happier, prettier, great!" (one of those "i think that was a compliment, but are you saying i looked like shit before?" compliments.)

* my boss giving me props in gangsta flava lingo.

* trading in a stack of CDs that i never listened to anymore for $45 bucks cold hard cash

* scoring some choice christmas gifts for my posse with my dead president windfall

* getting a fortune in my lunch cookie that said: "improve your exercise routine"

* driving back to the office and hearing an ad on the radio that intoned: "never has there been a better time for a manilow concert..." yes, folks. nothing heals a nation like songs of showgirls wearing dresses cut down to there.

* listening to the best happy-office-chair-bouncing music ever, the actual tigers. (a shoe-in for the nictate "best new band" award.)

*deciding that i should stop feeling sorry for myself over my lack of lovelife. in all the other facets of my life, i am so freakin' fortunate. to think i could have a good romantic relationship on top of all that is really just churlish of me.

*getting a break mid-day to browse my favorite journals and finding these gems:

tv zero waxing witty on parties:

friday night my posse and i went to a "loft" party. i don't know why loft suddenly became the descriptor for the shindig, as i don't normally don't say, "i'm going to the one bedroom apartment party," or "let's check out the victorian house soiree," or even "why don't we hit the two bedroom ranch style abode hootenanny."

malice extracts a gem while musing about being friends with the ex:

the politics of romance is an interesting thing. i realized how unfair it is that once a relationship is over and you've both moved on, that somehow it's uncouth to express your genuine affection for said person after the fact, like it's infinitely more loaded and dangerous and meaningful than it was during or even before said relationship.

while analyzing his dating dry spell, pablo came up with this gut-buster:

sometimes i think my relationship with myself is purely sexual.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16