fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2001-09-25 | 7:34 p.m.

corduroy licorice was down on his luck. "why do i always have to win at bingo?" he'd implore.

***

work is like a huge stress monkey hurling pieces of stress poo-poo at me. i'm starting to relate to mariah carey in a scary way.

BUT...there is good among the shitty. ok, it's good to have a job (even though it may be taking years off my life...at least i'll be able to feed and house myself during my remaining days on earth.) i get paid to be creative and have people say, "how did you think of that?"

PLUS...i work with really cool people. two in particular have made my week of defecation soooo much better.

check it out. this one sweet, quiet lady at work asked me how i was at the wrong time. i got all choked up and started venting to her about how i was feeling overwhelmed and less-than-heard around the office (she's in a similar boat). she listened sensitively, excused herself and came back with a bud vase and three bright gerber daisies that she had split off from her own desk's arrangement. "i thought you could use a little sunshine," she said. oh my gosh. she has no idea how much that gesture meant to me. how comforting it was to have someone reach out like that and give a little bit of themselves to cheer me up.

then this other gal at work who felt like she owed me a favor surprised me with a gift certificate to a music store. it was way too generous of her and she didn't need to do it, but the note she wrote to accompany it and the way she smiled when she handed it to me made my heart break out in babalu's of appreciation.

i'm a lucky chiquita, no doubt about!

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16