fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2001-08-06 | 6:48 p.m.

corduroy licorice was considering a career as an animal control officer, until the day it rained cats and dogs.

***

last week on nictate:

my dears, my dears, my love life is in arrears!

this week:

my psyche is seasick.

i came to that realization today at work after finding out i had to skip lunch (my favorite part of the work day, second only to going home). in addition to this, i had to leave my normal work awaiting while i spent all afternoon on the freeway and in a client conference room with only a granola bar growling in my tummy. grrrrrrharumph.

but the no-lunch poutiness was just a symptom of a bigger problem. i feel out of sorts. i decided the best way to describe it was to say i felt seasick, but not in my digestive system, in my head.

and it ain't just because of the rough water currently lapping the shores of my love life. that's part of the undertow, but only part. it's also an onshore flow of work pressure. and a feeling that i should be doing something i'm not doing. like creating something. or volunteering. or something.

i saw the movie "ghost world" this weekend. two people had told me it was stupid, but i ignored them and golly gee whillickers i'm glad i did. it was totally my kind of movie. totally, dude. offbeat, no particular plot, thoughtful character studies, quirkiness, sly humor... just a complete steam bath of oddness. ahhhhhhh, yes.

the movie is paced pretty aimlessly, which i appreciated because it's tracing the confusion of a girl after high school graduation...a pretty aimless place to be. adrift. not sure of where to go and how to fit in. and wondering if fitting in is really a worthy goal after all.

so i guess like enid in the movie, i'm feeling very square peggish right now. i know i'm weird, and i like that i'm weird, but not everyone "gets" me. i think i'm just starting to get myself. that's where the mental queasiness comes in...struggling to get my sea legs in the ocean of life, so to speak. a touch of the "what now?" and what not.

it's at times like this one looks for a little wisdom or guidance from others who've been there. the ever-darling pablo to the rescue! when something bad happens to him, he just shrugs and says, "ah, but worse things happen at sea."

'tis true, lads and lasses. 'tis true.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16