fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2001-05-09 | 12:52 p.m.

corduroy licorice was always looking for trouble. of all his childhood games that his mom had thrown out, he missed that one the most.

***

i love burritos
and burrito men love me
causing me to ponder
"where have you bean all my life?"

what is the meaning of such poetry?

i'll tell you. i get burritos for lunch a couple times a week. i have two suppliers...an old-school taco stand and one of those so-fresh-it's-a-part-of-our-name mexican fast food places. lately i've noticed that there is one counter guy at each place who seems to have taken a liking to me. seriously. i think i've found my target audience!

one smiles shyly when he sees me in line and stops to say "bye" even if he isn't serving me. the other complimented my striped hair once and today asked me leading questions like, "do you work here in the plaza?"

so here's what i'm thinking. when i walk up to their counters, i'm radiating my "i'm gonna get me some beans" smile and they interpret that as, "i'm gonna get me some of you."

my legume lust is being misconstrued.

how do i tell them that carne asada is the only meat i've got a hankering for?

and that asking for some pico de gallo isn't a double entendre?

***

winks of the day:

this young lady wowed me for two reasons. she quoted from my grandma-talking-to-the-tv entry, which was really flattering, but even more important, she is a seriously funky fresh, tight and alright writer! no wonder she's up for a diarist award.

my homie told me about a great book. my misspent youth by meghan daum. wow! is she good. acidic wit and disarming honesty. and i've only read the intro and half of the first chapter so far!

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16