fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2001-01-16 | 03:28:59

you know that old platitude that it takes a bit of irritating sand to make a pearl?

well, i guess it ain't such a platitude.

a drip altered my lifestyle for the better, and how!

this isn't a dating story either.

last week when it rained superfluously, my ceiling began to leak within ruining range of my computer.

faced with this dilemma, i pulled my typical nancy kerrigan reaction..."why me?!!!"

so i fussed and unplugged and detached cords and what-nots and put down rags and went to bed, hoping not to awaken to a soggy livingroom.

well, the drip dried itself up, as did the rain, and no harm was done. just a bit of pimply paint is all. i can deal.

what did happen is that to avoid any future threat to my dear computer equipment, i decided to "move desk" across the livingroom. little did i know that that would open a whole new world of decorating possibilities and/or minor improvements in my lifestyle.

with the new furniture arrangement, i don't have to use an unsightly cord to reach my phone jack to dial-up ye ole internet. i also get to sit away from the drafty window and closer to the heater. plus, the room looks much more roomy now and as i face this new direction, sitting and typing to you, i swear my chakras are more optimally feng shui'ed.

all because of a lousy drip that i once bemoaned.

the drip was my grain of sand that pooped me out a pearl.

***

in other news, i think things are jake with the once-angry girl at work. all seems to have blown over and i didn't even have to do a big oscar-worthy monologue of apology. evidently my little e-mail "sorry, it wasn't on purpose" message patched the wound. to that i say, "whew"!

in even other news...a few months back i was downtrodden momentarily by non-returned interest from a classmate of mine. well, i am happy to report that i've met someone great who is just as funny and even cooler and more attractive than the other bloke. bonus, aye? plus, after a recent class outing, i came to find out that i have next to nothing in common with the prior lad of interest...which made me realize what a wasted effort that pursuit would have been...and which makes me treasure my new find all the more.

so, what have we learned here, my darling proteges?

even if some event or thing is rubbing you the wrong way, time could reward your annoyance or disappointment with something you'll cherish. just so's you know.

***

achren is going for the guinness world record for longest girlboy list today...

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16