fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2000-12-14 | 05:33:08

today my friend and co-worker andre told me i'm a girl.

what's that, you ask? you'd think i would've known my gender by now?

you'd think...but nevertheless, i was delighted to hear the news!

seems that a few co-workers were talking about the females in the office and breaking them into two categories: women and girls.

it was decided that there were only two girls in the office (which has about 14 female employees, ranging from early 20s to mid 30s in age). the two girls in question ended up being me and a lovely 22-year-old buddy 'o mine. funny thing is, i'm the second oldest female in the office at the ripe old age of 35, but i beat out a dozen younger women to get the "girl" title! yessssss!

damn! i'm freaking-ass honored, man! i must say.

andre was even thoughful enough to let me know that he told the deliberators that i was a woman sometimes, too, but mostly a girl. i like it like that. the best of both worlds. much like kevin spacey, i rule! haha!

sometimes i feel young, sometimes not so much. sometimes i see a new line in my face and think, uh-oh, here we go...and sometimes 35 sounds old.

needless to say, this news was a major booster shot of positivity, man.

i enjoy being a girl. i like pink. i like glitter. i like shopping. i like the spice girls (the early years). i like flirting. i like giggling.

another friend told me about a conversation her five-year-old nephew had with his grandma recently:

him: grandma, does it make you sad when people say you're old?

grandma: no, i don't mind at all because i don't feel old.

him: good. because inside, you're a little girl.

what an insightful kid, aye? and what a cool grandma. i think that'll be me, too. i think i'll retain my girlness, even in my golden years. i think i'll still be crackin' wise at the bridge table and winking at the fellas and maybe, for old times' sake, bringing out my spice girls' cd and shaking my senior citizen rump on occasion.

i go, granny!

***

speaking of girls, why not hop over to see what a sweet canadian girl named jill has to say about her most favored boy...

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16