fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2000-12-12 | 04:58:13

sunday was a beautiful, peaceful day for me.

i had no agenda or obligations. a bit of stormy weather had sponged the sky of smog and the sunshine and breezes were dancing a lovely waltz among the treetops.

i even exercised. and i enjoyed it. a lot! i ran down a green belt under gnarled trees. i climbed the famous santa monica steps...190 in all, up and down three times without passing out.

i got my favorite sandwich from a fancy schmanzy health food market. they put shredded carrots in their sandwiches! the counter girl almost forgot my carrots, but i reminded her because that's my favorite part!

i went to a bath and beauty store and smelled one of every scent and bought some cool-o christmas presents. then i got a cafe au lait and walked in the sparkly sunshine back to my little car.

when i got home, i put away my packages, but the air felt so good and the sun was so happy, i had to go back outside.

since the coffee house hadn't had any nutmeg, i decided to walk to the market to get some. many coffee houses forget to buy nutmeg, but that's my favorite part! so i used the spice as an excuse to stay outside a wee bit longer.

i walked past the beautiful houses crowding the hills behind my apartment. i felt my bangs tickle my face and caught a glimpse of my solar-illuminated hair through the corner of my eye. i stared up at the cornflower blue sky and the golden and auburn fall leaves still clinging onto trees, waiting for a freeze.

it was flipping beautiful day, i tell you. pure, simple enjoyment...like a warm, fluffy towel straight out of the dryer.

i can still feel the sun kissing my skin. ah, sweet bliss!

edna knows the feeling...

***

"afternoon on a hill"

by edna st. vincent millay

i will be the gladdest thing

under the sun!

i will touch a hundred flowers

and not pick one.

i will look at cliffs and clouds

with quiet eyes,

watch the wind bow down the grass,

and the grass rise.

and when lights begin to show

up from the town,

i will mark which must be mine,

and then start down!

***

caroline is looking for a boy who will dance in time with her over at girlboy today...

***

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16