fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2000-08-19 | 09:28:45

answer just what your heart prompts you.

that's what my fortune cookie fortune whispered in my ear just days ago.

answer just what your heart prompts you.

i about fell out my chair when i read it. because why?

i have been wrestling with the idea of moving to new york ever since i made my first visit there last month.

i entered the trip innocently enough...just keeping my friend company, checking one more locale off the travel wish list, seeing what all the fuss was about.

well, the city knocked me on me ass. it's still sore with wonder. when was flying home, i was ready to tell my landlord and employer and, ok, friends *sniff,* that i was sorry, but i had to go.

then i got home, got into old routines, met up with my sister who lives nearby and realized i'd hate not being able to see her on a weekly basis, realized i had never spent more than a weekend ski trip in snow, realized i've got a good thing going with my job, my circle of friends...well, darn near everything except having a boy around.

that was another selling feature about new york. a whole new dating pool! woohoo! but then, again, "sex in the city" relates the factoid that there are a half a million more women than men in nyc. i'm not so good with the mad crazy math skillz, but the phrase "bad odds" comes to mind. by the by, the fact that i just used the phrase "dating pool" may imply that i'm an esther williams of fornication, but it ain't the case. i leave that up to sarah jessica parker and her fictional posse.

and such cool people are there. in new york. i mean, everybody i've met so far. well, ok, maybe boy basquiat falls into the novelty sundries section rather than the cool people aisle. i was only there a couple of days, but i've already met so many funky fresh--dare i say, tight?--people i would like to add to my calling circle if i moved there. and, of course, inner circle stephanie has already set up shop in brooklyn.

the obvious next step? job research. but has my lazy ass hit one website? naahhh. that's pretty telling, huh?

so here's my idea. i go wwf on the www and come back to visit real soon. that way, i can make sure it wasn't just vacation infatuation. might save me later motation.

it feels like i'm trying to decide if i should date new york itself. i know it probably wouldn't be a long-term thing, but aw, it could be a couple years of adventuring bliss.

i can't get her off my mind, is all. the city, you silly.

hey fate, whaddya say? shall i dive in? the water looks fine.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16