fresh�| day old�| links�| e-mail�| guestbook�| diaryland

2000-08-13 | 02:45:05

so i'm in washington state visiting my parental units.

it's a twice a year thing. summer and christmas.

my uncle picked my sister and me up at the airport and drove us to my parents' doorstep.

my mom came out to hug us hello. her lips were tight and her eyes focused like rk surgery lasers on my hair. it was a very strange phenomenon, like, mom! i'm over here! your daughter! hi!

my hair is dyed dark red now. she's seen it dyed red before, but not this dark.

she hugged me, pulled back, and continued the laser show. then onto hug my sister.

inside the house, she peered into my face. i felt like a petri dish containing puzzling bacterial fodder.

"lori, are your eyes bluer?" she asked, obviously suspecting i had slapped some of those colored contacts in my ocular openings to further morph myself from the creature she had created.

"no, mom. it's the hair. the contrast of the darker hair," i answered.

"oh," she nodded, still peering.

so tonight my dad and sister and i went to see a movie in the cute little brick theater in the cute little brick seaside downtown they live near. picturesque doesn't begin to describe it.

we saw "up at the villa," starring kristen scott-thomas and sean penn. it was decent. well, the vintage hats were the best part. that, and seeing sean penn wielding his good, old-fashioned american ingenuity in the villas of florence.

desert storm used to tell me that i looked like kristen scott-thomas. hee haw. i don't see the resemblance, myself, but hey, i ain't complaining! i'm part english, and i'm very patient. maybe that was it!

anyway, his comparison brought me extra comfort in our post-break-up period. see, "the horse whisperer" was just coming out and her smiling, patrician, british mug was four feet tall on billboards all over the city. gave me special joy, thinking that he'd have those giant calling cards to remind him of me wherever he went. *evil maniacal laugh*

i don't know if you can sense it, but i'm kinda putting off, or building up to, doing my desert storm "war and remembrance" entry. i mean, it's kinda brewing in my head. i want it to be the perfect storm. it may take up two entries. this guy had a major affect on my life, let me tell you.

it's gonna take a lot out of me, i think, to write about it. but i have to and want to and will.

in the movie tonight, kristen scott-thomas, about to enter a marriage of convenience, says: "what good is love? it's only managed to bring me misery."

ah, i see the resemblance now.

<----������� ---->


take a peek at these - (c) 2000-2003 nictate:

health tip
2005-03-16

health tip
2005-03-16

moving house
2004-11-19

quibbling with quitherfeather
2004-11-17

catcher in the wry
2004-11-16